The Church of England

The roots of the Church of England go back to the time of the Roman Empire when a Christian church came into existence in what was then the Roman province of Britain. 

The Church of England is organised into two provinces; each led by an archbishop (Canterbury for the Southern Province and York for the Northern). These two provinces cover England, the Isle of Man, the Channel Islands, the Isles of Scilly and even a small part of Wales.

Copyright 2015. St John Tuebrook. All rights reserved.

Site developed and maintained by ‚Äčthe

banner ‚Äčimage courtesy and copyright of derek hyamson

the diocese of liverpool

The Diocese of Liverpool serves a wide mix of communities in urban, rural and town parishes with 250 churches stretching from Southport in the North to Widnes in the South, from Liverpool in the West across to Wigan in the East and serving a population of 1.53 million in an area of 389 sq miles.


liverpool cathedral

From the very early days of its origins and starting to build just after the turn of the 20th Century, through to its completion in 1978 after 74 long, hard, but rewarding years, the unfolding story of this great cathedral, the largest in the whole of the UK and the fifth largest in the world, is unique and fascinating.

Tuebrook, Liverpool